About Me

Hello.  My name is Matt.  I reckon it’s only fitting that I should tell you a little bit about myself.  Hopefully this will help you to get to know me a little better and help us to connect on a little deeper level.

I was born into an US Air Force family in 1964 when Dad was stationed in Germany.  My life already started a bit interesting, huh?  Unless of course you’re German.  LOL.  I was number 4 of 5 children.

Beings as how Dad was in the Air Force, I went to kindergarten in Bossier, Louisiana.  Then I spent my first elementary school years in Riverview, Florida.  4th grade I went to school in Bicester, England as Dad was stationed near there at the time.  The rest of my elementary, jr high, and high school years were back in Riverview, Florida, with the exception of going to jr seminary when I was 15-16.  My senior year I was living back in Riverview, Florida so that is where I mostly grew up.

As soon as I graduated high school I joined the Air Force and spent substantial time in: San Antonio, Texas; Spokane, Washington; Kwang Ju, Korea; Valdosta, Georgia; and Tacoma, Washington serving our nation.  From the time I left the service, I’ve lived near Fort Worth, Texas where I worked in engineering at Lockheed Martin until I retired a number of years ago.

I have seven grown children and 13 grandchildren from 2 marriages.  They are all wonderful people and I am proud of all of them.  I am married to the most beautiful and wonderful woman that I have ever met.  She gives me new reasons to love her every day and has been by my side during some of my darkest moments in life.  She is my hero as she has literally saved my life.  There were times when any other woman would’ve and should’ve run, but she’s stuck by me, encouraging and supporting me to the best of her ability.  She is also so beautiful no matter what time of day it is or what she’s doing.  I believe I would be lost without her. I pray everyone feels that way about their significant other.

My hobbies include playing guitar both acoustic/electric and bass, playing at piano, writing/recording original music, photography, carpentry, hunting, riding my motorcycle, cooking, writing, and helping people smile and laugh.  I also enjoy fishing when my boat is running.  Ugh.  LOL.  I also have enjoyed doing much volunteer work in several areas including teaching a guitar class at a nearby prison and a local ‘soup kitchen’ as well as much volunteer work as a Knight of Columbus member.

Caveat: It is my intent that this blog be for everyone but I recognize that not everyone believes the same thing. I happen to be a Christian and will reference my beliefs when appropriate. If you do not believe as I do that is fine. Please be gracious and simply disregard the parts that don’t apply to you. Regardless, I’m not looking for arguments on my beliefs or interpretation thereof. Please feel free to comment sincerely, but don’t expect an argument.